T Levels

What are T Levels?

T Levels are the new ‘gold standard’ in technical education in England and are available to 16–19-year-olds upon completion of GCSEs. They are a two-year programme providing an alternative to apprenticeships and A Levels. T Levels are a level 3 qualification; one T Level is roughly equivalent to three A Levels.

T Levels have been developed with employers; employers continue to be involved by reviewing programme content and assessments regularly. This ensures T Level programmes equip learners with the skills and knowledge required to successfully join the workforce within their chosen industry.

What does a T Level involve?

A T Level can be broken down into three main components:

Core component: Usually delivered during year one, the core component is classroom-based and will help learners understand concepts, theories and principles relevant to the T Level.

Occupational specialism: This is a more specialist area within the broader T Level pathway and usually relates to a specific occupation or career. Depending on your chosen pathway, this may be classroom or workshop based.

Industry placement: Learners will spend 45 days working with an employer within an industry related to their T Level pathway. These 45 days could be in one block or spread over a period of weeks. Find out more about the industry placement: T Level industry placements: delivery guidance – GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

How is a T Level assessed?

Each component is assessed. The core component is assessed through externally set written exams either in the summer of year 1 or the autumn of year 2. There is also an Employer-Set project set by the Awarding Organisation but undertaken in a classroom-setting.

The occupational specialism is assessed through externally set synoptic assignments.


For more information please visit the City and Guilds Website –  Levels – A qualification that counts

Back to top